Yellow

100_0625

This is a picture of my original fishing bag.  John bought it for me as a birthday present and I carried my note books and pens, a camera and whatever else in it.  Back then I did not have a kayak, so when John was out fishing on the water, I was walking around the lake, or hiking through neighboring woods.  At times I would sit and write or read, while looking out over the water.   I watched John in his kayak a lot, also I watched the birds just like I do now, only from a different view.

Sometimes now, when I am in my kayak, I look through the trees to the paths that I used to walk and I miss it.  Obviously not enough to get out of my kayak, but I do miss those days.

I miss my old yellow fishing bag too.  I don’t have it anymore, lost it in the move.  It was falling apart to much to be used anyway, but I would have liked to keep it for memories.  I guess I am nostalgic like that.

I remember the day I got it.  John and I went to the store and as we walked towards the bag aisle, I saw this yellow bag and went straight for it.  Loved it the minute I saw it.

A couple of weeks ago I bought a bag to bring things to work with me, such as my lunch and whatnot.  Nothing fancy, it is black and white and serves the purpose, but it was no love affair with this bag.

Well, yesterday we went shopping and I had told John I wanted to buy a pocket book.  I don’t usually carry one, but my wallet had fallen out of the pocket of my jacket so I thought maybe it would be a good idea.  As we were walking towards where they keep the bags, I saw from a distance a yellow pocketbook.  It must have something to do with the color yellow because I went straight for that bag.  It was a little more than I was planning to spend, but it is perfect.  Soft leather, eight pockets, I love pockets and it is yellow.  I held on to while looking through all the other bags.  Thought maybe I would find something I might like just as much that might not be yellow, but that was not happening.  I love my new bag.

20170421_064148

Now I need a new fishing bag.  Hopefully one I can carry notebooks, pens and fishing tackle in all at once.  I wonder if it will be yellow.  I swear I don’t go looking for yellow.

This past Sunday we went out on the water again.  John fishing and me just paddling around looking for the Heron.  I found him, four times while I was there.  The first time I just came upon him, not knowing he was there until he decided to fly.  Love that sight.  The other three times I saw him first and watched him quietly before he took off.  The last time he was behind me and John told me to turn and look up.  I did and sat watching until he flew which was clearly enough time for John to find himself a little nook to fish in, so that when I turned back, it appeared that he was gone.  So off I went searching for him.  Paddled right by him on my way to circle the lake looking for him.  I circle the lake three times looking for him.  That would be about three miles of paddling.  That is a big ouch two days later, but never mind that.

We found each other again when we both decided it was time to head out of the water.  It was a good morning and then of course I went home to sleep so I could work that night.

I haven’t gotten my fishing license yet.  Clearly I don’t like fishing as much as John, or even close, but I want to get a fishing pole of my own this year.  That way, when I am halfway on the other side of the lake and think to myself, “It would be nice to be fishing right now.”  but then I don’t want to paddle halfway across the lake to bother John for a fishing rod.  On the other hand, I wonder how much I am going to like having a rod with me all the time, so that when I go under low hanging branches it will get caught up.  That is a real pain.

Anyway, I am hoping for good weather this Sunday to get out on the water again in any case.

7 thoughts on “Yellow

  1. Yellow does just seem to fit and attract your eyes. 3 laps around the lake is a lot and your right about the 2 days later pain. Get one of the small compact fishing poles that will stay out of your way. They work well also.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can see what attracted you to that bag. It had a wicked old school look to it. The good thing about having a rod and reel with you is you don’t have to use them if you don’t want the aggravation. I’ve done that a time or two. And you can still tell people you went fishing—just didn’t catch anything. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I too love the nostalgia of personal effects. I have my old Trainspotting books from the late 1950’s/early 1960’s in England. The books are interesting, but the real attraction are my notes inside, impromptu sketches etc. It is sad that you do not have your old bag because all the writings would have been fascinating to reflect on, but perhaps you could take your new bag on walks… and see what happens? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

