Irish Bread…

I have known my friend Claire since the first grade.  Turns out to be 42 years that I have known her.  She is a great lady and has always been a good friend to me.  Over the past couple of years when I have gone to Claire’s house, she has made Irish bread for me.  I absolutely love Claire’s Irish bread!  I should say that Claire is Irish if that isn’t obvious from her name.  Her parents came to the U.S. from Ireland.  I think the differences from her family to mine are interesting.  I also think it is interesting that if her parents and my grandparents hadn’t immigrated to this country, then Claire and I would never have met and I would never have gotten to eat her Irish bread, or experience any of the other wonderful things about knowing Claire. Now that I think of it, if my father’s parents hadn’t come from Italy and my mother’s grandparents didn’t come from Ireland, I wouldn’t exist.  Interesting.

A few months ago, I asked Claire to the recipe to her Irish bread.  She gave it to me and a few weeks ago, now that the weather is cooler, I made my first attempt at making the bread.  Sadly, I forgot to grease the pan and it definitely should have been in the oven longer.  Hey, I did what the recipe said.  Anyway, it was a little bit raw on the inside and I couldn’t get it out of the pan in one piece.  Failure.  I was expecting my first try might not work out.  So I made another.  This time I did everything right, except I forgot to put the sugar on top.  It was still really good.

Today I made another one, complete with sugar on top.  Natural sugar that is.

Still to hot to eat, but look at all those beautiful raisins!

I don’t think Claire will mind.

Irish Bread.

1 stick of butter

1 cup sugar

1 cup sour cream

2 eggs

 

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

 

3/4 lb raisins

butter and sugar  then sour cream and eggs.  Slowly add flour mixture

then raisins.

1 hour and 10 minutes   375 degrees

raw sugar

Hey, that is exactly what the recipe says.  I will say the raw sugar goes on top before you put it in the oven.  You’re going to have to tweek the amount of raisins you want in there, I did.  Also, the length of baking time might be different for me in a convection oven.  I had to bake it for 1 hour and 20 minutes.  It was fun to make.  Thanks Claire.

8 thoughts on “Irish Bread…

Leave a Reply

