Little Toot

When I was a small child, my sister Pat would bring books to me.  I still have one she gave me over forty years ago.  It’s called, “Little Toot, through the golden gate.”   Of course it is a little kid’s book.  On the inside there is a message written by my sister.
It reads, “Dear Tracey,
                   Take care of me!  I will give you pleasure when you read me!
                                                                                                                      Little Toot.
100_0941
So yes, say what you will, but I still have the book.  The books she brought me opened up my imagination.  I believe it was what made me love to write.
During the years of raising children, I didn’t read much.  After I left my marriage, my mind was in such a state that I could not read a book.  My attention span was for shit.  I tried, but at first I would find myself reading the same paragraph over and over not knowing what it said.  It has been a few years since then and I don’t have a hard time reading anymore.  I am having a ball reading the books that are suggested here by you!
Now what I am having a hard time with is writing.  John says I have my confidence in a box on a shelf.  I am hoping that if I just keep reading and living, my mind will free up to write.  Everything takes a little bit of time.
As for books, I am due back at the library.   I need to return a book for another.  I meant to get “Watership Down”, but what I got instead was  “Tales from Watership Down.”   Somehow, I don’t think that is right.   There are a few more suggestions for me to find as well.
I have read “To Kill a Mockingbird” which I liked.  Also, “The Alchemist”, which I was not all that fond of, so I retain the right not to read “Brida”.  It was said if I liked on I would like the other.  I don’t like it.
What I did like a lot though was “Into the Wild” by Jon Krakauer.  I really loved this book and wouldn’t mind reading more like it, hint, hint.    I am now looking to read “Into Thin Air” by the same author.
Basically, I have enough book titles to keep me busy for a while, but there is a long winter coming!!  I am still taking suggestions, thanks.
9 thoughts on “Little Toot

  1. Eiger Dreams by Krakauer and K2; Life and Death on the Worlds Most Dangerous Mountain by Ed Viesturs are good, if you like Into Thin Air. Papillon by Henri Charriere is an interesting read. In the Spirit of Crazy Horse by Peter Matthiessen is a great true book about Native American struggles that are still going on today. Glad you’re reading so much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

