Thank you and please can I have some more?

I really appreciate the book suggestions you all have given.  I have read a couple of really good books thus far and am having a great time going to the library to retrieve the books you mention.  I was back at the library today as a matter of fact.  First dropping off books, one of which was “Johnathan Strange and Mr. Norell”.  That was an experience to read.  First I went to the library at which time I had to order the book.  When I went back to pick it up, the librarian asked me if it was large print.  I said I did not know and she laid it on the counter and opened it up.  We both stared, but it was not anything close to large print.  Seven hundred and eighty two pages.  I admit, my first thought was, “This had better be good!”  My second thought was, “Oglach wouldn’t suggest it if it wasn’t, right?”  So I began to read.

I loved the book.  I don’t do book reviews, or reviews on anything, but I did.  I loved the book.  Finished it this morning and I know someone somewhere will understand when I say that when I finish a really good book, I have a tendency to miss the characters as though I knew them.  As though I would be nice to follow along with my favorite characters of the book forever.  Which reminds me, I loved the ending as well.

At the library I did bring one other book back with me, but I asked to borrow it again.  It is “A River Runs Through It” by Norman Maclean.  Thank you Oglach for this one.  I read it and am going to read it again.  Seems it is one of those books you might get more out of the second time around.

I also picked up “To Kill a Mockingbird”, suggested by Ameena, and “Wind, Sand and Stars”  suggested by Oglach.  On hold I have “Into the Wild” and “A Man Called Ove”.  That last one must be good, thank you Elle, there are 67 holds on the book before me in the library network, I am number seven on the list at mine.

I looked for “The Alhcemist”, which I know they have because I looked it up on the web site, but it seems to be out.  I feel funny saying this, but I was to shy to ask the man to help me with yet another book, so I figured I would do that next time.

I really do appreciate the suggestions and if anyone has anymore, that would be great.

10 thoughts on “Thank you and please can I have some more?

  1. “The Alchemist” is a great book. Another by the same author is titled “Brida”.
    If you like one, you’ll like the other. I’ll try to give you some more suggestions tomorrow, but for now….
    I had a really rough day today, and when I got home, I found that not one, but two people had written posts about books, and mentioned books I’d suggested. Kathleen, who blogs on ” Chapter and Verse” and “My Life in Runes” was one, and you are the other. It might seem like a little thing, but knowing that something I did made someone a little happier makes me happy, and I needed that today. You are awesome. Thanks for turning my day around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually just listened to A Man Called Ove for the 2nd time on Audible with H as we had a few driving trips to make. It was even better the 2nd time around! Hope you get it soon! I’ll have to try Johnathon Strange.., ~Elle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

