I just feel like writing…

Summer is definitely over and was it ever boring.  Mostly due to my dental situation, which I haven’t really come right out and said.  So I guess I will.  Had my top teeth pulled out and had to wait three months to heal.  As it is now, I am still waiting for the end result, which leaves me unable to eat a lot of things.  I’ve regrettably lost some weight, but I am hoping the dentist will be done with me in the next few weeks and I can work on gaining that back.

So fall is here and it is getting cold, moving right along into an early winter I think, but that is just my opinion.  Time to bake things.  I am sure I have mentioned before that I spend a lot of time alone.  Sometimes it is hard for me to keep myself busy.  I admit I play some computer games to pass the time, but I don’t watch t.v., so I think it evens out as far as entertainment goes.

I recently regained possession of my guitars.  This is a good thing as they are special to me.  The first thing I did was call and leave a message for my old music teacher letting him know I had gotten them back.  I even have a small collection of picks left here by the previous tenant.  Must be some kind of sign.

I was talking to my sister-in-law through face book and she is playing her guitar and singing in a club now.  I thought that was really cool.  My music teacher, Mario, thinks I should practice up and play out with him.  I think he is crazy, I am not that good.  Not to mention the nerves I would feel playing in front of people.

What I did not get back was my tuner.  I will have to go out and buy a new one, simply because the last time I tuned my guitar without one I broke a string.  The time before that, Mario said it sounded like a squirrel tuned my guitar.  It was horrible.  The string breaking wasn’t all that thrilling either.  A person could lose an eye that way!

One little thing Mario taught me about used guitar strings.  If you save them and tie them onto a kite, they make a nice sound when you fly the kite.  I haven’t actually done this myself yet, but I plan to.

 

5 thoughts on “I just feel like writing…

  1. Guitars are wonderfully therapeutic instruments. They are portable so can be taken anywhere, and (in my experience) can take you to another world just by fiddling around and finding nice sounds. I hope you can get back into your guitar playing (will need to get those fingertips hardened up again for pressing those strings down onto the neck). Enjoy the return of your musical “friends”. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on getting your guitars back. I laughed reading about you breaking a string whilst tuning. I’ve done that many times, and you’re right, you can hurt yourself; I cut my eyelid once but it was more humorous than anything else. Maybe your music teacher is right about playing out a bit. Other guitarists will support you. When they start being shitty to you, that means you’re doing well. 🙂
    I’ve never heard the bit about tying your strings to a kite before. You wrote about it beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ouch, that sounds like it hurt! I have thought about it, but I would have to practice a lot to get my confidence up enough to play out with him. He is so good it makes me want to cry! He plays the guitar, the bass, the mandolin and the banjo. Oh, and he sings. And thank you for the compliment on my writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

