Library

As a kid I went to the Brighton branch of the Boston Public Library.  I was always very intimidated when I went there.  As a little kid it seemed so big.  So when as an adult I walked into the Boyden Library in Foxboro Ma., I felt a little intimidated like I was a kid again.

Needless to say I have been back and forth to the library quite a few times over the past couple of months.  I know understand the filing system for books that had me clueless as a kid.  I also found that if they don’t have a book I want they can send out to another library for me to get what I want.  It’s great really, because when it is in they send me an email and I go pick it up.

This was the case for a book, “A River Runs through it”.  A good book that I may have to read again.  Something about it I can’t explain.  Anyway, thank you to the one that suggested that book.  I also have the other one on hold as well.

I remember when I was about ten years old, I was sitting on my bed, just finishing a book, when a friend of my sister’s came into my room.  He was a tall man with shaggy hair and a full beard.  I looked up at him and he said “This is for you.” as he tossed a book onto my bed.  I had never seen this man before, nor did I after, but the book he had tossed onto my bed was “The Call of the Wild” by Jack London.  I fell in love with the book and Jack London immediately.

This past week at the library, I picked up “The Call of the Wild” and “The Sea Wolf”.  Along with other books of course.  Anyway, reading that book again, however many times I have read it, I still love it.

I really would like more suggestions for books to read if anyone has any.  Thanks.

10 thoughts on “Library

  1. “Who said I was up for Adoption?” is a feel good story about a stray dog and, unlike most good dog stories, he is still alive when the book ends! It may not be available in your library system just yet, but can be purchased in various formats from amazon.com etc., and all profits from the book go to the Humane Society that rescued the dog in the book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I smiled reading your memories of the library and the books you’ve discovered. A couple you may like; “Into the Wild” by Jon Krakaeur (nonfiction) and “Wind, Sand and Stars” by Antoine St. Exupery, which is also nonfiction, but also an adventure story, and a philosophical memoir as well. Its one of my favourites.
    Keep writing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

