A picture of Daisy…

Remember the kitties, Scout, Smokey and Daisy, who didn’t have any human contact for the first few weeks?  Well, they are coming along fine!  Daisy has decided to come out of the bedroom, in which case she has taken over the rest of the apartment.  I finally got a picture of her with my lap top. (Camera lost in the move)

WIN_20160603_051110 (2)

I know the picture isn’t great, just the best I could do.  Isn’t she cute?  She is the friendliest of the three.  She seems very proud of herself to be the one going out of the bedroom first.  Scout got his name because he started out as the one to do things first, but Daisy seems to have out done him.  At this point, Scout is really the most shy of the three.  He is a little hard to take seriously with that stripe down his nose, but he is a panicky little thing and the looks he gives would be scary without the stripe!  He doesn’t like to be picked up, will in fact panic.  I know because I have the scratches to prove it.  He was also the last of the three to purr which was the funniest thing ever.  He didn’t seem to understand what was happening to him when he started to purr and he did sort of choke on it a little bit, like he was trying to get rid of the feeling.  This happened while John was petting him.  Something we have only been able to do with him and Smokey for the past couple of days.  The same amount of time that Daisy has been coming into the kitchen.

Being able to touch Smokey and Scout is amazing to me.  They came here hissing and spitting at me and John, hiding under the bureau, terrified.  With a lot of patience, including being attacked in my sleep by kittens that wouldn’t come near me when I was awake, they are coming around.

I have to be honest, I was very disappointed when the kittens first came and wouldn’t come near us.  It wasn’t what I was expecting at all.  I wanted a fuzzy ball of fur that loved me just because and instead I had three little balls of fur that seemed to hate me!  I was frustrated and I still get a little frustrated. I would like to be able to reach out and pat one of them without having to make sure I don’t scare them first.  On the other hand, it seems as though it means more when they show trust now then it would have in any other way.

I almost forgot, Smokey has allowed me to pick him up the past two days and today he was purring for me!

One thought on “A picture of Daisy…

  1. Sounds like you are making good progress with them. Keep coaxing them slowly and be patient Try and put yourself in their position. To them …. you are huge; you are scary and could be dangerous; you keep reaching towards them and they do not understand why. Patience! Patience! Patience!
    It is also good to keep in mind that like any animal, if a cat feels threatened, it’s response may be aggression. If you have never been on the receiving end of an aggressive cat…. be very concerned as those very sharp claws and teeth can do a lot of damage!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

