Shadows…

Everything’s gone dim, like a black and white photo,

the color has been drained from my eyes.

I live with shadows of memories of people I don’t know,

crowding me, surrounding me, drowning me.

Time passes and the shadows get dimmer,

melting in the heat of a new light.

Shock of color and I hide behind the shadows as the shrink in the light,

fading as my memory.

I try to hold on to this one, or that, but my fingers are burned by

the emotions they bring, turning this way and that, searching for peace.

I lie down and find it in sleep.

Dreams of new days when memories won’t matter.

Leave a Reply

