Thanksgiving Thoughts…

I have a lot of different memories of Thanksgiving.  From when I was a child and my cousins would come to the house and we had all kinds of fun, running around the house, steeling tangerines and nuts as we ran by.

I remember the teenage years when I wanted nothing but to sit in my room and come out for dinner only, just to have the same yearly arguments with my brother-in-law.

I remember as a young adult, going to my Uncle’s in Vermont for Thanksgiving.  Those memories are precious to me.  They continued on after I had my children.  We would go as a family and cook dinner together while playing cards with my Uncle.  I miss him.

I remember Thanksgivings that were held in my home.  Everything was always beautiful and so many people that I loved.  Forever I hold those memories, but they are over now to.

I woke up this morning and it doesn’t really feel like Thanksgiving to me.  That is not to say that I am not thankful, I am really filled with gratitude and I guess you say the reason why is that it isn’t any different than any other day besides the turkey.

I am grateful everyday.  I wake up in the morning everyday with someone that truly loves and accepts me for who I am and I do the same for him.  I don’t have many friends, but the ones I do have are true.  I don’t have much money, but I never cared to much about that anyway.  What I have is food and warmth and love and fun in my life.  I have been invited to have dinner today with a wonderful family, one that has my respect and admiration.  John’s parents have been married for 62 years and raised eight children.  They have 13 grandchildren, 15 great grandchildren with one on the way.  These are some easy going, down to earth people and they welcome me into their home for the holiday.

Most of all I spend my day with John and as we have for the past couple of years, we will go for our Thanksgiving walk after dinner.  This is one of my favorite times of the year.  Just this simple walk with this man.  That is all I need.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you reading this, and even those who don’t!  I hope you have peace in your heart wherever you are today.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Thoughts…

  1. Thx Trae. For all the “trials and tribulations” of your past, you are one of the most together people that I know. You remind me in some ways of my daughter who I recently visited for a couple of weeks. She has experienced physical, sexual and emotional abuse; an abortion; a brain tumor (still fighting it); cannot hold a job due to focus, balance and memory issues. She lives in a 1-bedroom apartment with neither TV nor internet. She has a wonderful daughter, friends and family. When I asked her what she would like for Christmas, she didn’t really know because she already had everything! Have a wonderful “rest of Thanksgiving” Trae. Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Colin. This is the nicest compliment you could have given to me. Knowing you, although only through the internet, has made such a difference for me. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas. Many of them actually and you daughter sounds beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

