Treatment for Hepatitis C…

I was nineteen years old, walking back from picking up some sandwiches for my friends and myself.  When I got to the hotel room, my friends were gone, replaced by a detective and police officers.    The detective was well known in this city and he had questions for me.

He asked, “Do you want to sit down on the bed and talk with me?”

I answered, “No, not really.” while glancing at the bed.

The detective blushed, I swear he did and then he asked me out into the hallway to sit on a bench.

One of the most humiliating moments of my life was when this man asked me to show him my arms.  I pulled up my sleeves to show swollen and bruised arms.  He looked at me and said, “You need to find some new friends.”

I hate needles.  I hated the high.  I hated everything about it, but that is what my friends were doing that night and it was either that, or don’t get high at all.

That was twenty seven years ago.  One night in a total of three that I used intravenous drugs.  As a result of that I have the virus Hepatitis C. and have known this since 2002.  At that time the doctor told me to wait for better treatments.  Three years ago, my PC told me I could not be treated because I had bipolar disorder.

Four months ago, I changed to a new doctor and he sent me to a GI doctor.  I started treatment for Hepatitis C. yesterday.  This is a three month treatment with an 86% chance for cure.  At this point I don’t know how much permanent damage there is to my liver.

My feelings about this at the moment are heavy at times.  I imagine my liver fighting this war of it’s own and now finally it has help.  I feel grateful for the treatment, whatever the outcome.  I don’t like to have expectations, but my thoughts on this are good.

 

Triple Clicka has been clean from cocaine for twenty years.

21 thoughts on “Treatment for Hepatitis C…

  1. So glad to hear that you are finally able to get some treatment for this. Hang in there, you”ve come a long way and are now on the road to recovery. Keep your positive attitude…it is truly amazing how much that can help in your recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

