Mental Health Friday #12

My bi-weekly post for Mental Health awareness on Randoms by a Random, with Ameena. Please visit her blog for wonderful poetry, flash fiction and mental health awareness. If you would like to contribute to her Mental Health Fridays, see this https://randomsbyarandom.wordpress.com/2015/08/16/mental-health-fridays-blurring-out-the-stigma/

Randoms by a Random

image

“During the Spring of 2008 my husband and I started to smoke Marijuana. We smoked a few times over a period of six months and then my husband stopped. I went on to smoke another six months before my husband realized and we then went back to the program of A.A. We originally met there when I was three weeks sober, May 25th of 1996. We had not abused alcohol or drugs since then and saw Marijuana as a relapse. The twelve steps of A.A. can be applied to more addictions than just alcohol and we both knew that.

This started a new period of our lives. More losses and a new way of life through the steps.”

It was early May of 2009 when I walked into that first meeting of Alcoholics Anonymous. I had had a few years of sobriety prior, but this time I wanted something different-…

View original post 742 more words

Leave a Reply

