Memories in a Box

 

 

I carried my memories in a box,

but as I carried it the box fell apart.

So I picked up what was left and put them in a smaller box.

As I carried that box, it fell apart too.

So I picked up what was left and put it in a smaller box.

Then one day that box fell apart and I realized

I could no longer carry them with me.

So I put down the box and I walked away,

but even today I remember.

I remember the pictures that were in the box,

the faces and smiles of people I loved.

I remember the box when it fell apart and everything that was there.

Memories are something like the people I remember,

they don’t belong in boxes anyway.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Memories in a Box

Leave a Reply

