Neponset Reservoir

John and I went to Neponset Reservoir in Foxboro last Saturday.  I had not been on the water there before.  Due to boat traffic, there aren’t as many lily pads slowing down my paddling.  Of course I should point out that groups of lily pads can be  a good thing to park your kayak in when you don’t the wind to blow you around.  That works well for fishing and for taking pictures at times too.

I felt a little sad that I had given up on fishing because this lake would be perfect for Sydney, my favorite lure.   John said he had an idea he thought I might like.  He took just the tip of the plastic cover off the hook for me, leaving the barb covered.  He also said he could press the barb down on all my Sydney lures.  This way I still have a slight chance of catching a fish, but getting the hook out of the fishes mouth is a lot easier and less painful for the fish.

I caught a small bass this way.  The hook came out and the fish seemed only mildly annoyed.  Needless to say, one fish is usually what I catch before moving on.   While exploring I came upon this bird.   I think it is a Double Crested Cormorant.  The picture is not that great, but I am not a photographer and he didn’t hold still for very long.

100_0815 (3)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Neponset Reservoir

Leave a Reply

