Mental Health Friday #3

Another post I wrote for Mental Health Fridays on Randoms by a Random. Thank you to Ameena to the platform.

Randoms by a Random

image

The effect of stigma on an individual’s acceptance of a diagnosis is something I find extremely important. As I noted in mylast mental health Friday post, my first diagnosis came at the age of five.

At first glance, one might find it easy to stand in judgment of a mother that turns away the opinion of an expert. However, in my case, I was most likely one of the first children diagnosed with Early Onset Bipolar Disorder and at that time (1974) the term Manic Depressive was still prevalent. I can only try to imagine what the “label” would mean to my mother at that time. Something to the effect of her daughter being crazy, stupid, and/or dangerous. To look at her daughter, she knew those things were not true, but had she had a realistic view of what the disorder meant, she may not have so hurriedly pushed…

View original post 443 more words

Leave a Reply

