The Importance of Loss

Some people are just way to fucking beautiful!

Captain's Log

Back to the good stuff, if I do say so myself.

I don’t take advice on life from my younger brother. Actually, I don’t take it from any immediate family members.

When we discuss life, we mostly just fight. All parties are to blame, of course, but when pitted against my younger brother I’m always ready to accept more blame because I’m older and should know better, the theory goes. Amidst our current unpleasantness I have been thinking about why I never listen to him. This naturally led to me contemplating how I decide to ever listen to anyone. In other words, which criteria do I use to seriously consider another person’s invariably well-meaning advice? As always, I’m curious to read how others would answer this question too.

For me, however, it boils down to loss. The more loss a person has experienced, the more I listen. If a person has experienced less loss than me…

View original post 339 more words

Leave a Reply

